Nigerian Presidents and Military Heads from 1960 till date

Nigerian Presidents and Military Heads from 1960 till date|Before the unity of Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba, the three ethnic groups were disintegrated. But, when Fredrick Lord Lugard joined these three ethnic groups together, this made the country Nigeria. Fredrick Lord Lugard under the auction of Queen Elizabeth ruled Nigeria for several years. Due to the demand for independence and sovereignty, Nigeria was given her independence. This was  in the year 1960 on the 1st of October.

Nigerian Presidents and Military Heads from 1960 till date
Nigerian Presidents and Military Head from 1960 till date

Nigerian Presidents and Military Heads from 1960 till date

After Nigeria gained her independence in the year 1960, a prime minister was nominated to overseer the affairs of the state, his name was Sir Tafawa Belewa. He was nominated by the ethnic groups in Nigeria in conjunction with other countries of the African continent. As a prime minister he executed his duties fabulously and always worked towards the realization of his goals.

The first President of Nigeria was Dr. Nnamdi Azikwe. He ruled Nigeria from 1963-1966, he was the founder of the University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN) he contributed to the affairs of the country, as he engaged in infrastructural development and other activities which was well spoken of him during his civilian rule.

Major General Johnson Aguiyi Ironsi was known as Nigeria’s first Military head of state. This was when Nigeria started its military journey. Ironsi was the only military head of state with a short tenure in office he ruled Nigeria for six months which was from January 1966 to June 1966.

General Yakubu Gowon was also one of Nigeria’s military head of state he assumed power after the coup of General Johnson Aguiyi Ironsi in 1966. During his regime his running mate by name Ojukwu was in seek of this same power and this led to the out-break of the civil war in 1967. This was because Ojukwu intended to divide Nigeria, he wanted the southern part of Nigeria which was occupied by the Igbos to be a federal state of its own. He named it “Biafra”, this is why we do hear of the war between Biafra and Nigeria  after much killing and destruction, the war ended yet Biafra didn’t succeed the secede from Nigeria. Gowon ruled Nigeria from 1966-1975.

General Murtala Mohammed was the subsequent military head of state after Gowon who was conspired in a military coup in 1975. He ruled Nigeria from 1975 to 1976 and was overthrown in a military coup in February 1976.

Major General Olusegun Obasanjo assumed power after Murtala’s death. He was a deputy in Murtala’s regime, he ruled Nigeria for four years (1976-1979). During his reign he made a statement which implied an end to military rule in Nigeria. Olusegun wasn’t overthrown by a coup but he handed over power to Shehu Shagari.

President Shehu Shagari was the next on line after Major General Olusegun’s dethronement. He was Nigeria’s Second president, he ruled Nigeria from 1979-1983. Though it seemed Nigeria almost returned to civilian rule, yet shagari was de-throne by a military coup in 1983.

General Mohammadu Buhari was the next in power after shagari’s dethronement in his regime he tolerated no act of indiscipline he was always strict in his dealings with Nigerians. He ruled Nigeria from 1983 till 1985 before he was overthrown.

General Ibrahim Babangida:  assumed power after General Mohammadu Buhari, in 1986 he ruled Nigeria from 1985 till 1993.

President Ernest Shonekan was an interim president nominated by Babangida to control the affairs of the federal state in 1993 he stayed in office for only three months and was dethroned.

General Sani Abacha:  At the time Sani Abacha was Nigeria’s military head of state the nation was in total hardship and starvation he was seen as being selfish, he was rude and is being described as the worst military head in Nigeria. He ruled from 1993 to 1998. He was dethroned in 1998 this time it wasn’t a military coup but he was poisoned to death and made the majority of Nigerians to be in jubilee.

General Abdulsalami Abubakar took over power from Abacha in 1998 he ruled Nigeria from 1998 to 1999 he was patriotic and calm. He was sworn into power in June 1998 and he ruled till 1999.

President Olusegun Obasanjo: When Obasanjo ruled as a military head of state he made a statement which implied a stop to military rule in the country. This time, just as he said the civilian rule fully returned to its place. He assumed power as the president after the conduct of an election in 1999. And was made president. The day of his election is now regarded Nigeria’sDemocracy Day he ruled from 1999 to 2007.

President Umaru Musa Yar’ adua: President Umaru Musa Yar’adua was obasanjo’s successor ruled the country from 2007-2010. He was made the president of Nigeria in the democratic way, his stay in office was for three years, this was because in the third year of his rule he became sick and died unfortunately in 2010.

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan completed the remaining year of Yar’adua’s tenure he assumed power in 2010. Before then he was a Deputy Governor in Bayelsa a state located in the southern part of Nigeria. During his rule Nigerians found favour and goodluck just as his name implied it was during his rule that the Nigerian super eagles won the CAF cup in 2011, 2012 and 2013 they ascribed victory to the personality and appellation of their President. Goodluck ruled Nigeria for five years which was from 2010 to 2015.

President Muhammadu Buhari became the president of Nigeria in 2015 he was formerly a Major General in Nigeria during her military rule, he ruled from 1983 to 1985. During the election conducted in 1999, he was a running mate to Olusegun Obasanjo who won the election by having more votes than him. Currently Leftanant General Muhammadu Buhari is the President of Nigeria. He is the Grand Commander of the Federal Republic of Nigeria GCFR he has been in office since 2015 and will continue to rule till date.
The above outlines and discusses Military heads and Presidents of Nigeria from 1960 till date.

Nigerian Presidents and Military Heads from 1960 till date Nigerian Presidents and Military Heads from 1960 till date Reviewed by Rapture - B on February 27, 2020 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.